Dental implant cost by state
Average implant and All-on-4 prices for all 50 states and D.C. from the 2024 Synchrony survey, on a map you can tap, with the index used to scale estimates.
4 minutes to read / Next price check due 2026-11-29
Tap or tab to a state on the map to see its two averages and how far it sits above or below the national figure. The button under the result carries that state into the home-page estimator.
Where the state numbers come from
CareCredit publishes two state tables from the 2024 Synchrony Average Procedural Cost Study, which ASQ360° Market Research carried out for CareCredit across the 50 states and D.C.:
- Full-size single tooth implant: national average $2,143, range $1,646 to $4,157 (CareCredit, single tooth implant, Feb. 20, 2026). Scope not stated; see what an implant quote includes.
- All-on-4, one arch: national average $15,176, range $11,640 to $27,500 (CareCredit, All-on-4 cost, Apr. 24, 2026).
The index in the table is the state's single-implant average divided by $2,143. The estimator multiplies every national price by it. The last column applies it to the $4,000 Dental Economics median for a complete implant tooth.
Reading the map
- 33 of the 51 areas sit below the national average. The average is pulled up by a handful of expensive states, so the middle state (Pennsylvania, $2,067) is a little under it.
- Highest: Hawaii ($3,565, index 1.66), Massachusetts ($2,781), California ($2,730), Alaska ($2,595), D.C. ($2,518), Maryland ($2,454).
- Lowest: Alabama ($1,790, index 0.84), Oklahoma ($1,806), Arkansas ($1,825), Mississippi ($1,848), Iowa ($1,861), Missouri ($1,866).
- All-on-4 follows a similar order but not the same one. Mississippi is the cheapest arch ($12,642) while Alabama leads the single-implant table; Hawaii tops both ($22,989 per arch).
Using the index on your own quote
Suppose a practice in Washington quotes $5,400 for an implant, abutment and crown. Washington's index is 1.133, so the scaled overall median is $4,532 and the scaled dearest-city median (Minneapolis, $5,505 × 1.133) is $6,237. The quote sits between those two medians. A quote above the dearest-city median isn't necessarily wrong (a custom abutment, a zirconia crown or a front tooth that needs careful shaping all cost more), but it's a reason to ask for an itemized plan and a second opinion.
All states and D.C.
| State | Single implant, state average (scope not stated) | All-on-4, average per arch | Index | Complete implant tooth, typical |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $1,790 | $13,014 | 0.84 | $3,341 |
| Alaska | $2,595 | $18,349 | 1.21 | $4,844 |
| Arizona | $2,138 | $15,439 | 1.00 | $3,991 |
| Arkansas | $1,825 | $13,370 | 0.85 | $3,406 |
| California | $2,730 | $19,260 | 1.27 | $5,096 |
| Colorado | $2,161 | $15,100 | 1.01 | $4,034 |
| Connecticut | $2,230 | $15,843 | 1.04 | $4,162 |
| Delaware | $2,129 | $15,035 | 0.99 | $3,974 |
| District of Columbia | $2,518 | $19,271 | 1.17 | $4,700 |
| Florida | $2,130 | $15,132 | 0.99 | $3,976 |
| Georgia | $1,962 | $13,774 | 0.92 | $3,662 |
| Hawaii | $3,565 | $22,989 | 1.66 | $6,654 |
| Idaho | $2,165 | $15,342 | 1.01 | $4,041 |
| Illinois | $2,207 | $15,730 | 1.03 | $4,119 |
| Indiana | $1,903 | $13,305 | 0.89 | $3,552 |
| Iowa | $1,861 | $13,144 | 0.87 | $3,474 |
| Kansas | $1,891 | $13,418 | 0.88 | $3,530 |
| Kentucky | $1,930 | $13,499 | 0.90 | $3,602 |
| Louisiana | $1,932 | $14,097 | 0.90 | $3,606 |
| Maine | $2,191 | $14,841 | 1.02 | $4,090 |
| Maryland | $2,454 | $17,864 | 1.15 | $4,580 |
| Massachusetts | $2,781 | $18,236 | 1.30 | $5,191 |
| Michigan | $1,951 | $13,806 | 0.91 | $3,642 |
| Minnesota | $2,012 | $14,211 | 0.94 | $3,755 |
| Mississippi | $1,848 | $12,642 | 0.86 | $3,449 |
| Missouri | $1,866 | $13,483 | 0.87 | $3,483 |
| Montana | $2,092 | $14,890 | 0.98 | $3,905 |
| Nebraska | $1,909 | $13,612 | 0.89 | $3,563 |
| Nevada | $2,120 | $14,987 | 0.99 | $3,957 |
| New Hampshire | $2,232 | $16,086 | 1.04 | $4,166 |
| New Jersey | $2,255 | $17,476 | 1.05 | $4,209 |
| New Mexico | $1,939 | $13,726 | 0.90 | $3,619 |
| New York | $2,223 | $16,264 | 1.04 | $4,149 |
| North Carolina | $1,964 | $13,936 | 0.92 | $3,666 |
| North Dakota | $1,955 | $13,823 | 0.91 | $3,649 |
| Ohio | $1,989 | $14,291 | 0.93 | $3,713 |
| Oklahoma | $1,806 | $12,901 | 0.84 | $3,371 |
| Oregon | $2,294 | $16,102 | 1.07 | $4,282 |
| Pennsylvania | $2,067 | $14,615 | 0.96 | $3,858 |
| Rhode Island | $2,342 | $15,585 | 1.09 | $4,371 |
| South Carolina | $1,953 | $14,324 | 0.91 | $3,645 |
| South Dakota | $1,900 | $13,677 | 0.89 | $3,546 |
| Tennessee | $1,935 | $13,305 | 0.90 | $3,612 |
| Texas | $1,972 | $13,720 | 0.92 | $3,681 |
| Utah | $2,129 | $15,552 | 0.99 | $3,974 |
| Vermont | $2,241 | $15,714 | 1.05 | $4,183 |
| Virginia | $2,095 | $14,631 | 0.98 | $3,910 |
| Washington | $2,428 | $17,347 | 1.13 | $4,532 |
| West Virginia | $1,893 | $13,709 | 0.88 | $3,533 |
| Wisconsin | $2,001 | $14,308 | 0.93 | $3,735 |
| Wyoming | $1,980 | $14,017 | 0.92 | $3,696 |
Source: 2024 Synchrony Average Procedural Cost Study, state tables as published by CareCredit (single implant article dated Feb. 20, 2026; All-on-4 article dated Apr. 24, 2026), checked 30 Oct 2026. "Complete implant tooth, typical" = $4,000 × index, our calculation.
Limits of a state average
A state figure hides the gap between a city center and a small town, and between practices in the same street. The Dental Economics survey found the specialist median ($3,400) about 29% lower than the general dentist median ($4,800) in the six metros it covered (Dental Economics, Feb. 2026). Within any state, the quote you get depends on who places the implant, what the crown is made of and what your bone needs. Treat the state number as a sanity check that a quote sits in a believable range, not to predict it to the dollar. See why quotes differ.
Map outlines: redrawn and simplified from the public-domain TIGER/Line files of the US Census Bureau.
Seen a newer price survey or a figure that's off? Send a correction