Where every number comes from
The price surveys, agency pages and studies behind the estimators: what each supplies, when it was read and any interest the source has.
7 minutes to read / Next price check due 2026-12-06
Every figure on the site leads back to a row on this page. Unless a row carries its own date, we read the US sources on October 30, 2026 and the treatment-abroad sources a day later; items rechecked on November 6, 2026 say so. If a publisher stands to gain from the subject, the row names that interest. This is also the one page that links to CareCredit, whose tables carry the Synchrony cost studies; elsewhere the site points here instead.
Prices
| Source | Used for | Read | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dental Economics: comparative analysis of implant costs across major US markets | Median $4,000 for a complete implant tooth; specialist $3,400, general dentist $4,800; six metro medians ($3,665 to $5,505) | Survey Sept. 2025, published Feb. 1, 2026 | Telephone survey of 278 offices; authors work at an oral surgery practice |
| CareCredit: dental procedure costs | National averages for implants, grafts, sinus lift, extractions, crowns, bridges, dentures, cone-beam CT (2024 Synchrony study); veneers (footnoted on the page to the 2023 Synchrony study, cost tables of October 2023); the "standard endosteal implant, per tooth" line at $4,344, scope not stated | Rechecked 6 Nov 2026 | Publisher sells medical financing |
| CareCredit: single tooth implant | $2,143 national average for a "full-size single tooth implant", $1,646 to $4,157 range, state table used for the index; what the price covers is not stated (we read it as the post) | Article Feb. 20, 2026; 2024 study; rechecked 6 Nov 2026 | A related card on the page gives $4,175 as the top of the range |
| CareCredit: All-on-4 cost | $15,176 per arch, $11,640 to $27,500, state table | Article Apr. 24, 2026; 2024 study | Per-arch reading is ours, from the article's wording |
| CareCredit: 3 ways to replace missing teeth | Denture and bridge ranges | Dec. 6, 2024 | Cites the 2023 and 2024 studies |
How the two surveys are combined. Per tooth, the estimator shows three Dental Economics medians: specialists ($3,400), all offices ($4,000, the typical figure) and Minneapolis, the dearest city ($5,505). They are named medians, not the ends of a statistical range. Every price is then multiplied by the state's index: its Synchrony single-implant average divided by $2,143. Full-arch figures use the Synchrony state table directly. The calculations are ours.
Coverage and money
| Source | Used for |
|---|---|
| Medicare.gov: dental services | Original Medicare doesn't cover routine dental care, extractions, dentures; medical exceptions |
| Medicaid.gov: dental care | Adult dental optional, no minimum; EPSDT for children |
| KFF: Medicare Advantage 2026 Spotlight (Dec. 9, 2025) | 98% of individual plans offer some dental in 2026, often with an annual dollar cap; no dollar figures (read 6 Nov 2026) |
| KFF: Medicare and dental coverage (July 28, 2021) | 94% of MA enrollees with some dental; ~$1,300 average limit; 59% at $1,000 or less; 50% coinsurance most common |
| ADA News: annual maximums (Dec. 19, 2025) | NADP maximum bands; 3.4% of patients reach the maximum (ADA HPI, 2024) |
| IRS Publication 502 (2025) | Dental treatment, artificial teeth, cosmetic and whitening rules, 7.5% of AGI |
| IRS Publication 969 (2025) | No double deduction of HSA-paid expenses; employer contributions and employment taxes |
| IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-19 | 2026 HSA limits $4,400 / $8,750 |
| IRS Rev. Proc. 2026-24 | 2027 HSA limits $4,500 / $9,000 (read 6 Nov 2026) |
| IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-32 | 2026 health FSA limit $3,400, carryover $680 |
| IRS news release IR-2026-133 (Nov. 5, 2026) | 2027 health FSA limit $3,500, carryover $700, citing Rev. Proc. 2026-35 (read 6 Nov 2026) |
| 26 U.S.C. 223 | $1,000 HSA catch-up at 55 |
| IRS Topic 751 | Employee Social Security 6.2%, Medicare 1.45% |
| CFPB: medical credit cards and financing plans (May 2023) | 26.99% typical APR; deferred interest |
Clinical background
| Source | Used for |
|---|---|
| FDA: dental implants, what you should know (content current as of Oct. 29, 2021) | Parts of an implant; risks; smoking and diabetes; talk to your provider |
| ADA statement on implant practices (Nov. 1, 2024) | Exam, options before financing, second opinions |
| ADA MouthHealthy: veneers and bridges | What veneers and bridges are; veneers irreversible |
| AAP: sinus augmentation | Upper back jaw; 4 to 12 months of bone development |
| ACP: frequency of denture replacement (2015, reaffirmed 2018) | Replacement criteria include a prosthesis "in function for more than 5 years"; "There is currently no evidence to determine the frequency of denture relines, rebasing, or remakes" (rechecked 6 Nov 2026) |
| Clinical Oral Implants Research 2012;23 Suppl 6:2-21 | Implants under single crowns 95.2% and crowns 89.4% at 10 years |
| Clinical Oral Implants Research 2004;15(6):654-666 | Conventional bridges 89.1% at 10 years |
| CDC: tooth loss fast facts (May 15, 2024) | 15% of adults 65+ edentulous; 26% with 8 or fewer teeth |
What we couldn't verify
- Abutment prices on their own. The Dental Economics component table is published as an image we couldn't read, and no other public survey we found prices abutments separately.
- The ADA's own fee survey. It is sold, not published free, so we don't quote it.
- How long veneers, partial dentures and full-arch bridges last. No figure we could verify; the calculators show the assumption instead.
- Sedation fees. No national figure; add your own.
Map
The state map comes from Census Bureau TIGER/Line outlines, which are public domain, simplified for the screen.
How each figure is checked
This replaces the separate method page the site used to have.
- Read at the source. A figure is copied from the page that publishes it, never from a news story about it, and the reading date goes next to it. Where the publisher's wording is vague about scope (the $2,143 and $4,344 lines are examples), the page says so and labels any interpretation as ours.
- Counted honestly. "Typical" and "median" are used only where a survey or at least four comparable clinics stand behind the number. With fewer, the page gives the prices found and their median, called a rough middle. A minimum published by a source is shown as a floor, never as a price.
- Clinic prices. For other countries without a survey, only a clinic's own price list counts, and only lines covering post, abutment and crown together; the cheapest complete option per clinic is taken, and branches of one brand count once.
- Rechecked on a timetable. Each page shows when its figures were last read; the US surveys and IRS limits are reread when a new edition or year appears, clinic prices more often because they move.
- Arithmetic tested twice. The calculators work in your browser with fixed formulas. A separate implementation in another language, plus cases worked by hand (one tooth and a full arch, a plan maximum already used up, the cheapest and dearest states), is rerun after every change.
- Left out on purpose. Named practices and dentists, patient reviews, before-and-after photos and advice for one person's mouth.
The wording of the pages comes from an AI model, and nobody reviews it by hand at present; the page about the estimator explains the people and the program behind it and why that is disclosed.
Treatment abroad and public insurance (read October 31, 2026)
- NHS: what is included in each dental band charge (page reviewed March 13, 2025): Band 3 at £332.10 in England.
- Verbraucherzentrale: Zahnersatz, Festzuschuss (January 26, 2026): 60%, 70% or 75% of the standard treatment; 2026 crown and bridge amounts.
- healthdirect: cost of dental care: Medicare generally doesn't cover adult dental care.
- Canada.ca: Canadian Dental Care Plan coverage (modified August 27, 2026).
-
Medicare.gov: dental services: Original Medicare generally doesn't pay for dentures and implants.
-
OCU, dental health survey press release (November 27, 2024): median of €1,850 reported for an implant in Spain.
- Verbraucherzentrale, dental implants: at least €1,000 per implant in Germany.
- Stiftung Warentest, press release (July 17, 2024): an implant can cost more than €4,000 when bone must be built up first.
- CHOICE, dental fees: implant insertion and abutment price ranges in Australia, without the crown.
- Clinics' own price pages, opened on October 31, 2026; 13 countries yielded at least one full price. These are advertised prices, not surveys; the method and the counts are on the treatment abroad page. The clinic list is kept internally and not published, so no clinic is promoted.
Seen a newer price survey or a figure that's off? Send a correction